Philadelphia Waterdogs to play at Villanova Stadium this summer

The Premier Lacrosse League (PLL) recently announced the Philadelphia Waterdogs will play their inaugural homecoming games at Villanova Stadium from June 14-16, 2024. 

The PLL announced in November that its Waterdogs franchise would be relocating to Philadelphia as part of an eight-team professional league. The Waterdogs joined the league in 2020 as an expansion team. They won the championship in 2022 and made it back to the title game in 2023.

The franchise will showcase the talents of Dresher native and Upper Dublin standout Michael Sowers, who was named the 2022 PLL championship game MVP. James Reilly (Conestoga High School), Chris Sabia (The Haverford School), and Jack Traynor (Malvern Prep) are among other locals on the team.

“Philadelphia lacrosse fans have fueled the most powerful environments for three PLL Championship Games.” said Paul Rabil, Co-founder and President of the Premier Lacrosse League. “We’re excited to watch what happens when Waterdogs fans welcome their team to Philly at Villanova this summer, and look forward to bringing the world’s best lacrosse players to the region once again.”

The PLL recently assigned its eight teams to home cities, marking the league’s biggest investment since its inception in 2018. Eight of the PLL’s 10 regular season games will take place in its team’s home cities, including Philadelphia, with two regular season weekends, All-Star Game, and playoffs to be held at neutral sites. As the home team, the Philadelphia Waterdogs will play two games on back to back days for their homecoming at Villanova Stadium.

“Villanova is thrilled to partner with the Premier Lacrosse League and the Waterdogs for their inaugural season in Philadelphia,” Villanova University Vice President & Director of Athletics Mark Jackson said. “Lacrosse fans in the greater Philadelphia area are in for a great weekend at Villanova Stadium.”

Ahead of the 2024 season, the Waterdogs will face off against the top teams from the PLL’s 2023 season in the PLL Championship Series February 14-19, 2024 at The St. James near Washington, D.C. The Utah Archers, Boston Cannons, California Redwoods, and Philadelphia Waterdogs will compete in the Olympic Sixes game format, set to return lacrosse to the Olympics at the Los Angeles 2028 Summer Games. 

To view the full 2024 PLL Schedule, learn more about the Philadelphia Waterdogs, and join the presale for early access to purchase tickets, visit